Sunday, July 3, 2022

Picture Book Review: What's in Your Pocket



This is half biography half science and lots of fun. It asks the question what famous scientists would have in their pockets as kids. The nine scientists featured are George Washington Carver, Charles William Beebe, Jane Goodall, Charles Darwin, Meg Lowman, Diego Cisneros-Heredia, Mary Anning and Maria Sibylla Merian.

It's a great introduction to collecting items from nature and using those to study and understand the world. And the illustrations are gorgeous! 

What did you put in your pocket as kid? What about now?
 

Saturday, July 2, 2022

Book Challenges at Your Library

 

For many librarians (myself included) their professional role spills over to our personal lives. This is often the case with me. I identify as a librarian - it's part of who I am. 

I never thought I'd have a serious book banning incident. How wrong I was. 

My library (and me by extension) is going through it right now, you might have seen it in the news. 

So, here's what I learned.

  1. It's not personal (It's hard NOT to take it personally)
  2. It's not your collection (Even though it feels like it is when you put all the work in effort into creating it. It's really for the library. Yes I buy books I don't want to purchase for a variety of reasons)
  3. Let your boss take control (Mine handled it like a Rock Star)
  4. The community is in an uproar, (Most of it is great, and it means talking to lots of people about books and the library - also great. It's been super nice to have the support of the community. BUt, some of it is not great.)
  5. People will yell at you, it's not personal, they're upset too - it's your job to calm them down (if you can) with the facts.

PSA: 
Libraries are not parents; we provide books and information for Children and Teens to read. 
It's the parents' job to make sure their children are reading what they believe is appropriate for their family. We believe in the freedom to read and support that freedom with a variety of books. 

A few ways to support your library:
  1. Visit the library
  2. Have a library card
  3. Check items out
  4. Attend a library program

Friday, July 1, 2022

Review: Ninja Kitties

 


Seven royal kitties transform into Ninja Kitties when danger is near. 
They're trained by Grandma Tabby - their master trainer. Besides saving the kingdom, they spread messages of kindness, peace, and love,

Each kitty has his/her/their own power and of course they all have flaws. Which creates a great balance. 

They fight the same villains - the Fang Gang.

And of course, they save the day in the end. 


Each book follows the same formula
1. Get to know the characters
2. The story
3. Grandma Tabby's Ninja Note (lessons learned)
4. Activities which may include word scramble, maze, word search, crossword puzzle, draw and color, spot the differences, and hide and seek
5. Answer key to the activities 
6. Stickers!

These books have a great message and fun activities - great for keeping elementary kiddos entertained (Esp. during the summer). 

*books were sent for review

Thursday, June 30, 2022

Five Things (3): Maizy Chen's Last Chance

 


I really enjoyed Lisa Yee's book about a young girl and her mother who travel to stay with her grandparents for the summer. Her grandfather is not doing well and they need to help out at the family restaurant. This was such a powerful story about family, racism, and history.

Here are 5 reasons why I loved it:



Library Recommendation: A must have book for your school and public library!

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Picture Book Review: Miss Rita, Mystery Reader



Tori's father is the mystery reader at school today - but he's going in his later ego - Miss Rita. Tori helps him get ready with make-up and clothes and most importantly sparkles! Tori hopes that everyone will love Miss Rita, just as much as she does.
A fantastic story about draq queen storytime, being yourself, and sparkles. I love the message that Sparkling is serious business. I love how everyone participates in the story time. And I love the dad jokes. This book has great illustrations. It's perfect for reading all year round, but obviously also during Pride Month.

Library Recommendation: A must have book for your library's collection.

Blog Tour: The Name She Gave Me

 

The Name She Gave Me

Welcome to The Name She Gave Me Blog Tour!

Writing in Verse
by Betty Culley

Why write in verse?
Why read verse?

Because
it makes you choose
your words
carefully.

It helps you distill
emotions
thoughts
dialogue
into just what’s needed
to tell the story.

It leaves space
on the page—
white space
for your eyes
to rest,
your mind
to work,
and your heart
to grow.
 


The Name She Gave Me cover

Buy | Add on Goodreads

On Shelves Now!

"Wistful verse highlights small but telling moments throughout Rynn’s search...The author’s lived history with foster care and adoption gives the narrative nuance and authority. Emotionally complex and empathetic characters...and a faithfully depicted rural landscape form an exemplary backdrop for this contemplative novel."
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Compassionate and compelling."
—Kirkus 

A heartbreakingly beautiful novel in verse about adoption, family, friendship, and love in all its many forms, perfect for fans of Robin Benway and Jandy Nelson, from the acclaimed author of Three Things I Know Are True.

Rynn was born with a hole in her heart—literally. Although it was fixed long ago, she still feels an emptiness there when she wonders about her birth family.

As her relationship with her adoptive mother fractures, Rynn finally decides she needs to know more about the rest of her family. Her search starts with a name, the only thing she has from her birth mother, and she quickly learns that she has a younger sister living in foster care in a nearby town. But if Rynn reconnects with her biological sister, it may drive her adoptive family apart for good.

This powerful story uncovers both beautiful and heartbreaking truths and explores how challenging, yet healing, family can be.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Betty Culley's debut novel in verse Three Things I Know Are True, was a Kids' Indie Next List Top Ten Pick, an ALA-YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee, and the 2021 Maine Literary Book Award Winner for Young People's Literature. Her first middle-grade novel Down to Earth was inspired by her fascination with meteorites, voyagers from another place and time. She's an RN who worked as an obstetrics nurse and as a pediatric home hospice nurse. She lives in central Maine, where the rivers run through the small towns.


GIVEAWAY

The Name She Gave Me

  • One (1) winner will receive a finished copy of The Name She Gave Me
  • US/Can only
  • Ends 7/10 at 11:59pm ET
  • Enter via the Rafflecopter below
  • Visit the other stops on the tour for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Blog Tour Schedule:

June 27th — Feed Your Fiction Addiction 
June 28th BookHounds
June 29th — YA Book Nerd
June 30th — A Dream Within a Dream
July 1st Utopia State of Mind

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

 This week's topic is summer TBR - which for me usually means new books out in June, July and August. 




Kids and Middle Grade:
 


YA:




Adult:
 

 






 


 
 

Any of these on your to read list?

Monday, June 27, 2022

Review: Summer at the Cape

 


One summer changes the life of two sisters. 

Violet returns home to help her mother and her recently deceased twin's summer project. 

Cami, Violet's older sister, never lived on the Cape. She lived with her father after the divorce. The cape never felt like home to her, she always felt like an outsider. But when her mother calls asking for legal help, Cami drops everything to see what she can do. The Cape seems glorious after her workaholic days where she hasn't taken a vacation in years. 

Now both sisters are learning to trust each other again - and themselves. Could the Cape help heal their grief and mend their hearts - opening them up to the possibility of love?
My Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book. I felt terrible for the family and what they went through with Lily's death. I loved the camping/bed and breakfast moments. I enjoyed the romances - all of them. But more importantly, I enjoyed the sisters finding their way back to each other. Another great read from RaeAnne Thayne 

Cover Thoughts: Charming
Source: My Library
Library Recommendation: Highly recommended for your romance collection - perfect for readers looking for a beach read or those who enjoy Hallmark movies.